DWP Partnership Event Working Together

Please note that NERHG is a third party partner and not part of Youth Homeless North East

DWP Partnership Event Working Together

The DWP Working Together report is now available. Please click here

 

Nationally, Homeless Link’s ‘A High Cost to Pay’ (2014) report and further Welfare Reform Research showed that sanctions disproportionally affect those experiencing homelessness. The Working Together series of national events, delivered by Homeless Link and in partnership with the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP), aimed to improve joint working between homelessness organisations and the DWP on a local level. A Working Together Toolkit was produced as a result of the events to support ongoing work Working Together Regional research, ‘Home and a Job’ (2013), conducted by Youth Homeless North East (YHNE) with young people highlighted two key issues. Firstly, young people want to work but feel they do not have the right opportunities to meet their needs and secondly, that young people are adversely affected both practically and emotionally as a result of having their benefits sanctioned.

In the North East, two Working Together events were held in the north and south of the region to begin to investigate opportunities to develop greater partnership working. 100 people attended in total including staff from the Local Authorities and the homeless sector with each event supported by local Jobcentre Plus (JCP), Youth Homeless North East (YHNE) and Shelter, who had delivered training to the homeless sector commissioned by the NE Regional Homelessness Group.

Responding to feedback given at the regional Working Together events Homeless Link, YHNE and DWP collaborated to run a series of local workshops across the NE, bringing together the homeless sector with local JCP staff, with a focus on improving communication and partnership to:

  • Reduce the number of homeless people affected by benefit sanctions
  • Improve the likelihood of homeless people accessing employment opportunities

Our aims were to:

  • Build or develop partnerships and establish working relationships between local JCP and the homeless sector across the NE October 2015
  • Increase awareness and knowledge around existing and future Welfare Reform developments namely Universal Credit, the Claimant Commitment and easements available to homeless people
  • Enable attendees to confidently cascade information to their teams and colleagues

 

 

DWP Key Locality Contacts

South Tyneside

DWP Contact Details for South Tyneside

key roles

Social Justice Manager; South of Tyne

John Moiser             0191 4514346          john.moiser@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Mobile: 07920 500128

Local Partnership Manager; South Tyneside

Bernie Topham   0191 4513344               bernadette.topham@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Mobile: 07920702042

Coaches;

South Shields Jobcentre

Niccola Charlton         0191 4514307       niccola.charlton@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Angela Nicholson       0191 4514328      angela.nicholson@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Mobile: 07789396970

Jim Cox                       0191 4514333       jim.cox@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Jarrow Jobcentre

Sonya Hooper           0191 4513031     sonya.hooper@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

Key barriers that the Coaches support clients with:

Drug and alcohol addiction                 Multiple sanctions

Mental ill health                                  Ex-offenders

Homelessness                                      Troubled Families                              

Care leavers                                      Vulnerable customers

Domestic Violence                                Severe indebtedness

Educational failure / low skills              Family breakdown

Ethnic minorities

Border Contacts

Social Justice Coach – Contact Details for Borders

 

David Hogg                          01670 395026          DAVID.HOGG@DWP.GSI.GOV.UK                                             07825 112042

 

Key barriers that the Coaches support clients to deal with:

 

Drug and alcohol addiction                 Multiple sanctions

Disability                                             Severe indebtedness

Family breakdown                               Educational failure / low skills

Troubled Families                               Mental ill health

Care leavers                                       Vulnerable customers

Domestic Violence                             Ex-offenders

Homelessness                                   Ethnic minorities

 

North Tyneside

Social Justice Coaches – Contact Details for North Tyneside

 

Killingworth and North Shields Jobcentre

Joyce Niven                         0191 2205409          joyce.niven@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Whitley Bay Jobcentre

Christine Armstrong            0191 2204936          christine.armstrong@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

Key barriers that the Coaches support clients to deal with:

 

Drug and alcohol addiction                 Multiple sanctions

Disability                                             Severe indebtedness

Family breakdown                               Educational failure / low skills

Troubled Families                               Mental ill health

Care leavers                                       Vulnerable customers

Domestic Violence                             Ex-offenders

Homelessness                                  Ethnic minorities

 

Newcastle

Social Justice Coach – Contact Details for Newcastle

 

Newcastle City, Newcastle West and Newcastle East Jobcentres

 

Kelly Baston                        0191 2302970          kelly.baston1@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

Key barriers that the Coaches support clients to deal with:

 

Drug and alcohol addiction                 Multiple sanctions

Disability                                             Severe indebtedness

Family breakdown                               Educational failure / low skills

Troubled Families                               Mental ill health

Care leavers                                       Vulnerable customers

Domestic Violence                             Ex-offenders

Homelessness                                   Ethnic minorities

 

 

Northumberland

DWP Contact Details for Northumberland

Key roles

 

Social Justice Manager; North of Tyne

Suzzanne Henderson                               suzzanne.henderson@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Mobile: 07920783151

Local Partnership Manager; Northumberland

Julia Knox                  01670 395 272                    julia.knox@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Mobile: 07795 221 739

Coaches;

Ashington, Morpeth, Alnwick, Jobcentre

Dianne Thompson             01670 395247          dianne.thompson@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Blyth, Bedlington and Cramlington Jobcentre

David Hogg                          01670 395040          DAVID.HOGG@DWP.GSI.GOV.UK                                             07825 112042

Hexham

Sharon Connelly                 0191 4516921          sharon.connelly@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

Key barriers that the Coaches support clients with:

Drug and alcohol addiction                 Multiple sanctions

Mental ill health                                  Ex-offenders

Homelessness                                      Troubled Families                              

Care leavers                                      Vulnerable customers

Domestic Violence                                Severe indebtedness

Educational failure / low skills              Family breakdown

Ethnic minorities

 

Gateshead

Social Justice Coaches – Contact Details for Gateshead

 

Gateshead and Felling

Sandie Andrews       0191 4514211     sandie.andrews@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

0771 7815542

Lynn Bricknall           0191 4514258       lynn.bricknall@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

0778 9174744

 

Blaydon and Hexham

Sharon Connelly       0191 4516921       sharon.connelly@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

 

Key barriers that the Coaches support clients to deal with:

 

Drug and alcohol addiction                 Multiple sanctions

Disability                                             Severe indebtedness

Family breakdown                               Educational failure / low skills

Troubled Families                               Mental ill health

Care leavers                                        Vulnerable customers

Domestic Violence                             Ex-offenders

Homelessness                                   Ethnic minorities

Sunderland

Social Justice Coaches – Contact Details for City of Sunderland

Sunderland and Southwick

Simon Harper          0191 5544918      simon.harper1@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Lindsey Fisher         0191 5544901     lindsey.fisher@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

Washington and Houghton

Julie Buckham          07788 415924       julie.buckham@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

Key barriers that the Coaches support clients to deal with:

 

Drug and alcohol addiction                 Multiple sanctions

Disability                                            Severe indebtedness

Family breakdown                               Educational failure / low skills

Troubled Families                               Mental ill health

Care leavers                                       Vulnerable customers

Domestic Violence                             Ex-offenders

Homelessness                                   Ethnic minorities

 

 

Further sources of information:

Twitter:

More news

Supported by:

Youth Homeless North East is made possible by the generous support of





Contact Us:

Youth Homeless North East
Broadacre House
Market St
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE1 6HQ

Tel: 0191 230 4666

Email:
info@yhne.org.uk